Call for an appointment today: 

716-853-BACK (2225)

Eric P. Roger M.D.

Neurosurgeon


Cindy Sue Testimonial (submitted at ericroger.com) : March 19, 2016*
After several neck and spine surgeries I was still in extreme pain. I was on the highest pain patch. The neurosurgeon that did all my surgeries kept telling me everything was perfect, and my pain was all in my head. After 5 years of extreme pain, my pain specialist Dr. Eugene Wang wanted me to see his friend Dr. Roger (it's a french name, pronounced Rojaa!) I called the Cleveland clinic and the girl asked me where I lived. I told her between Buffalo and Rochester. She said 'We have one of our finest in Buffalo" and she told me Dr. Eric Roger is in Buffalo!! I went to him...with a walker I used for years. I gave him my last MRI that was done by my other Dr and he said " You must be in pain..your fusion didn't take" and I had a bent screw. He showed me the MRI and went through everything with me. He made the surgery Dec 4. I stood up to look out the window crying..do I really want to go through more and Dr. Roger put his arms around and said "I can fix this". I AM SOOOOO HAPPY I MADE THE DECISION TO GO THROUGH THE SURGERY!!! I went home on a small dose of pain medicine which I only took for a month. I no longer need anything for pain!!! His whole team is wonderful!! They even save their thank you cards!! I owe my life to Dr. Roger and Neil. I thank God for them everyday!! I have my life back!!!


  by Mikhail G. on Feb 1st, 2016* 
I struggled with my low back issues for several years. Initially it was just a back pain (which is normally manageable!), I had first seen a PT three and a half years ago and the PT sessions helped me for few months. Then, again, a terrible pain in the middle of night when I could not move for an hour until the OTC pain med kicked in. Had to start another PT session, which did not help me much but the pain was lowered somewhat after taking ibuprofen pills. I was doing okay once again until another setback occurred when I tried helping to lift a lawnmower (October 2013). I knew something did not go right as I felt a sharp pain in my back. Next morning, I could not move and was unable to get out of my bed. The back pain was excruciating! I had to stay in bed for more than two weeks, taking ibuprofen; could not even get into a car to see a doctor. After three weeks I saw my primary care doctor, and he recommended seeing a chiropractor who actually helped him before with his back pain. So, I started seeing that chiropractor. The chiropractor ordered an X-ray, and promised me that I would be just fine by the Christmas. Although the back pain was terrible, it did not propagate into legs. I was not aware yet how critical that could be! The chiropractor was a nice person, had a good team, and sessions that included adjustments as well as ultra-sound massages worked a miracle for me. I started exercising couple weeks later, and I was in a pretty good shape by that Christmas! Thanks to the chiropractors help, I was able to resume gym exercises and little by little got into a great shape by Spring 2014. Chiropractor office visits were once every month for adjustment only, and I was able to even travel to Germany for a week that summer. Just when I thought I was finally over with the back pain, I got another setback after I had to take a long trip to mid-west on my car. The back issues were not as bad as they used to be, but I started seeing the chiropractor frequently, as often as three times a week. To my frustration, the sessions did not help much as before and we had to interrupt sessions for two months after my back pain worsened to a degree when the adjustments were actually harming me. By the end of August, it was a deja  vu all over again. I was in bed unable to get up, missing my work. However, the pain this time was different: I started feeling a tingling in my right thigh. Then, my left leg, below a knee, namely a calf area started showing some sensitiveness. Did not pay too much attention to it first, as it was intermittent until the real leg pain started. Burning in my left leg, numbness, and it was something new and scary. I scheduled an appointment with a neurosurgeon with a large local neurological center. Of course, I ended up seeing a pain management doctor, not a neurosurgeon, who advised me to start PT sessions at their center and ordered an MRI scan for my low back. The scan showed a herniated disk as expected, but they were hopeful to manage back and leg pain with a physical therapy and medications/pain killers. PT sessions did not help much, although the therapist put me on a decompression table. With pain getting worse and worse, I had to go back to my chiropractor as he was recommending his spinal decompression machine. Barely walking and in a lot pain, frustrated, I would grasp for every straw to rid of my debilitating leg/back pain. We started decompression sessions, a course of 25 total sessions. First few sessions were not helping as the load was too low, and we started seeing some improvement only after the loading was ramped up. And then, we hit a plateau. No or little progress as we crossed over a dozen of sessions. Meanwhile, after a month long wait, I had a chance to see and talk with a neurosurgeon. He was nice, reviewed my MRI and suggested that I’d continue decompression sessions if they are not making it worse. However, he said that most likely I’d need a surgery. So, I finished the decompression sessions, and I was just a little better than before I started them. And few thousand dollars lighter. The start of 2015 was not the way anyone would want to start his/her New Year. I was in such pain that I could barely go to work. Could not sit, could not stand up, could not walk for a minute or so. My five sick days run out quickly, then my vacation days. Saw another neurosurgeon. Same recommendation: a microdiscectomy. Possible side effects, infection, and even a paralysis. I was scared. I have been asking around for a neurosurgeon recommendation, and opinions differed. I apologize for this lengthy introduction. However, I believe I had to do so to show where I was exactly a year ago. I was extremely depressed, and did not believe I’d be walking again. It was a struggle. But I had to make a decision on not what to do next, but who would operate on me. That was the critical decision to make after already seeing three surgeons (yes, 3 different surgeons). A good friend of mine was long recommending to visit Cleveland Clinic to see Dr Bell about my spinal issues. His mother had an extremely successful spinal surgery that involved fusing of two adjacent vertebrae. After several years of debilitating pain, she was doing so well that her daughter was about to see Dr Bell about her neck. However, Dr Bell decided to retire after decades of service, and he recommended seeing Dr Roger by saying he trained him and would trust him to operate if I or any member of my family would ever require any surgery on neck and spine. No need to travel to Cleveland as you have Dr Roger in Buffalo. These are words that Dr Bell told to Scott, a friend of mine. My friend'€™s sister had a neck surgery with Dr Roger and it was a success. So, Scott convinced me to see Dr Roger. I called his office and scheduled an appointment in three weeks. Those were tough weeks to wait. Finally the wait was over, and I was on his Michigan Avenue office. Barely walking, and miserable. His staff - Danielle, Neal, Joulet - have always been so helpful! They know what exactly you are going through, and know how to help you. For me, they sure did. Dr Roger said that I'€™d need a microdiscectomy and explained the surgery, the outcome and the risks. I was so ready for the surgery, and the sooner the better. Dr Roger asked his staff to schedule me as soon as possible, and lucky me, there was an opening in a month, a cancellation. Otherwise, more than two months. But we had to act quickly with all the required tests, and paperwork. I got all help I needed and more from Dr Roger’s staff to accommodate my operation, as I was afraid I would not be able to complete all tests on time and get a clearance for the surgery on a such compressed time frame. I prayed for that clearance and with all help from his office I was all set for the surgery day. Detailed instructions on what to do, how to prepare and prompt help from Joulet when I had questions have really helped me during those challenging times.  Joulet and Danielle took care all of my paperwork including short-term disability paperwork. Finally, a surgery day, April 24. Dr Roger met me in the morning in the hospital room, and re-assured me once again about the surgery and said I’d be home by 5pm. The surgery was at Buffalo General . Not scary at all, just anxious. Do not remember when I was put asleep, just remember when I woke up, and a strange, long forgotten feeling of no pain in my leg. It was over... Two hours later, a huge hug with Dr Roger, tears of happiness and we are heading back home! Less than 70 hours later, I stopped using strong pain killers for the after surgery pain. Two more days, and I stopped taking Tylenol OTC. Walking upright, first time after how many months! After 6 weeks after the surgery, I started physical therapy per Dr Roger'€™s recommendation. That is critical, as I my back was so weak. Back strength is critical to avoid any setback especially after the surgery. It'€™s been over nine months now since the surgery, and I am doing so well I can'€™t even believe I'€™d be in a such good shape right now if you asked me last February. What Dr Roger did was a miracle. For me and my family! I am a different man right now than I was a year ago! It was a life changing event on April 24, 2015. I will never forget that day, and I will be eternally grateful to Dr Roger for his help! He is the Surgeon! Thank you Dr Roger! http://www.vitals.com/doctors/Dr_Eric_Roger/reviews
Doctor's Response
Thank you very much for your generous review. The best thank you that anyone can give is to share their story when they have a positive outcome. We are blessed that we have such great patients. Mikhail, I am truly touched you trusted us and happy we were able to help you.


  Nov 10th, 2015*
At this time I choose not to have surgery when I am ready I was definitely would choose Dr. Roger.  http://www.vitals.com/doctors/Dr_Eric_Roger/reviews
Doctor's Response
We were honored you chose us for your evaluation. We always say that if you think you can put off surgery, you should. Patients are always the best judge of when surgery is the only option left. If you decide that you cant manage the pain any longer, we will be happy to see you again. Good luck!



by BRENDA ORTIZ on Sep 29th, 2015*
DR ROGER DID MY CHIARI MALFORMATION SURGERY LET ME TELL YOU HE IS THE BEST, HE AND ALL HIS STAFF WAS COURTEOUS AND WONDERFUL ALSO HIS WIFE WHICH IS THE HEAD NURSE AND HIS BROTHER THAT WORKS WITH HIM ARE THE BEST CARE PEOPLE IN THE WORLD I GIVE THEM A 10 AND RECOMMEND THEM , YOU WILL BE IN GREAT HANDS. http://www.vitals.com/doctors/Dr_Eric_Roger/reviews
Doctor's Response 
It was a pleasure having you in our office! You were a wonderful, motivated patient. Patients like you make our job easy. So happy your pain is gone, we will always be here if you need us!


 
by Caryn Atkinson on Sep 29th, 2015*
Loved the time spent with an actual surgeon vs PA like at other surgical offices. Great response times, accessibility and attn. to detail. Liked the no-nonsense approach to fixing the problem at hand. http://www.vitals.com/doctors/Dr_Eric_Roger/reviews
Doctor's Response
Thank you for your review! We pride ourselves on patient education and attention. We are a medical family run practice that strives to remember the important part of our practice, our patients. Thank you for trusting us with your care. We are so happy you did well.


  
by Willie C on Sep 21st, 2015*
A true professional with a compassionate spirit. http://www.vitals.com/doctors/Dr_Eric_Roger/reviews
Doctor's Response
Willy C., you will be hard to forget. What a wonderful attitude you had towards your recovery! Thank you for the gift for our staff, your appreciation will not be forgotten. It was an absolute pleasure having you as a patient!



Sep 4th, 2015*
Dr. Roger and his team were there for me for all the steps in obtaining my surgery. Danielle and Joette answered any question and were always able to take the time to listen and provide guidance. If they didn't know the answer they got back to me in a timely manner. Thank you to all!! http://www.vitals.com/doctors/Dr_Eric_Roger/reviews
Doctor's Response
Thanks for the great review!!


 
by Renee M. Lasker on Sep 1st, 2015*
Dr. Roger and his wife, Joulet Roger R.N. are the most amazing people I have ever met. Their staff is just the same. The first time I walked in to their office I felt lost and pretty much ready to give up hope on my back injury but as soon as Joulet brought me back to her office to speak about everything that is going on, everything changed. She was very blunt and to the point about everything that was going to happen. When I was done speaking to her, I met Dr. Roger. I didn't even have to open my mouth and ask any questions. He's the same as his wife, blunt to the point and extremely informative about the whole process and options I have with my situation. Before I left, I was appointed an assistant that basically walked me through what was to come next. Within a few days on my appointment I received all the information I needed, my appointments that needed to be done before surgery and a very detailed list of things I needed to personally do before my surgery date. I had my surgery at Buffalo General. Dr. Roger has wonderful bed side manners. He and his staff visited me before my surgery and made me feel comfortable. I met everyone that was going to be working on me and I was again informed of what was going to happen. When I awoke, I was comfortable, not in any pain and the nursing staff knew exactly what to do. Though I did not see Dr. Roger after the surgery, I didn't feel the need to since everyone that took care of me knew what to do. Today I am a week and four days out of surgery and I am feeling 90% better than before I went in for surgery. He guaranteed the pain in my legs would subside and told me exactly what to expect and he was 110% correct!! I look forward to each day now, knowing each day is better than the last! I would definitely recommend Dr. Roger and Joulet to any one I know, including my closest family members! He's very knowledgeable and cares about each of his patients. I'm very thankful that he came into my life at the moment I needed him the most!! http://www.vitals.com/doctors/Dr_Eric_Roger/reviews
Doctor's Response
We are very happy to see you full of life and in very little pain such a short time after surgery!! If you need us in the future, don't hesitate to call us!!


  
by april bumpers on Aug 21st, 2015*
I am 2 months post op from back surgery it was rough but my back no longer hurts now!!! Prior to meeting Dr Roger I had spent 2 years going to physical therapy months at chiropractors and 3 epidurals with short term results. I meet Dr Roger in November 2014 he knew my only option was surgery . My first operation was in Jan 2015 with great results my second was a lower lumbar fusion in June it was really rough at first I was in pain . Its now 2 months later I have no back pain I can get out of bed without having to roll out , I know I have a ways to go yet but I cant thank Dr. Roger his PA Neil his lovely beautiful wife Joulet and his entire staff enough there the best!!! http://www.vitals.com/doctors/Dr_Eric_Roger/reviews
Doctor's Response
We are happy you are doing so well!!! You have much too much energy, April, to have been slowed down by pain!!. It was our pleasure to take care of you!


by Del K. Rykert on Aug 16th, 2015*
I was plagued with multiple neurological residual issues after a severe beating in 1981. My neck had sustained significant injury/changes that were dramatically effecting the quality of my life. Without belaboring all of the specific issues, I feel it is sufficient to say it effected everyday and every waking moment of my life. When Doc. Roger offered his surgical choice he explained it thoroughly and plainly on what I could expect and what the complications could be. I finally accepted that surgery should be an option I should take under his scalpel. Immediately upon my awaking and when anesthesia had cleared I could start to feel the improvements. Headaches gone. Taste, smell, mental focus, mental endurance, dry eye syndrome, upper arm fine motor and strength all were improved. Most of these are just a bonus for me as we were basically looking to keep myself from being paralyzed d/t no fluid around my cord. He kept my pain tolerable and understood all of my medical issues I was bringing to the table to deal with them appropriately. For me it was one of the wisest choices I have made in my 66 year life with 42 years being in medicine as an R.N. http://www.vitals.com/doctors/Dr_Eric_Roger/reviews
Doctor's Response
The nicest thing anyone can do for me is to do well after surgery. Thank you for your kind review. Reviews like this are the reason we do what we do. It was our pleasure Mr Rykert!



by ANTHONY MARCHITTE on Jul 14th, 2015*
I put off my back surgery for 8 years . Being in such pain I struggled to try to find some relief with my leg pain . Dr . Roger helped me by explaining the possibilities. Not knowing for sure the outcome of the surgery I decided to try surgery since the injections did not work. I went with the surgery. I had immediate relief and no leg pain. My back pain will still be because of other circumstances. I owe everything to Dr. Roger for his skillful diagnosis. He is the best. http://www.vitals.com/doctors/Dr_Eric_Roger/reviews
Doctor's Response
It was truly our pleasure to take care of you!



by Tracey B on Apr 5th, 2015*
Dr .Roger performed Alif surgery on me January 15th 2015 & even though I'm only 12 weeks post op I feel so much better already. Pre surgery I was in constant pain from lower back pain down to my legs and feet from the nerve pain. I tried every non-surgical venue with no success. Thankfully as of today just the normal  healing post surgical back pain (but no where near how the pain was before the surgery) & My abdominal incision was sutured to perfection after time I'm convinced you won't even be able to notice it. I feel so much better & glad I had the surgery . I'm thankful that my Physiatrist referred me to Dr.Roger, from the first meeting his staff & himself we're very kind and attentive and answered all my questions & concerns and put me @ ease. Dr.Roger is an outstanding surgeon extremely knowledgeable in his field, and his Patient/Doctor protocol is excellent. His entire staff made the whole process very easy for me. Mrs. Roger his wife who is also part of the practice is also very kind and knowledgeable & caters to your individual needs & helps your being "out" of work process a breeze. Mrs.Roger makes herself available if you have a question or concern .I had a few questions before surgery as well as when I arrived home post surgery and I called her and she ANSWERED not the typical answering service and wait for a call back ,She put me @ ease right away & took the time to listen to my concerns because being out of work & knowing you don't have to worry is also a major part of the surgery. The day of surgery Dr.Roger & his wonderful PA Neal  (whom I can't speak highly enough of ) came in made sure I was comfortable & asked if I had any questions or concerns, identified everyone involved in my care & made sure I knew step by step what was transpiring until I went to sleep in the OR.The care I received from Dr.Roger & his staff at the hospital was excellent Dr. Roger & Neal the PA & the rest of the staff we're always present & concerned with how I was feeling & keeping me as comfortable & cared for as possible. I highly recommend that anyone with ailments such as mine seek his counsel for treatment. I could not be happier with the care he provided me, and I will continue to seek his guidance in the future if I have back problems. €”Tracey B. http://www.vitals.com/doctors/Dr_Eric_Roger/reviews
Doctor's Response
What a wonderful review! We will be here if you ever need us again!!



by Mohammad mustafa on Apr 4th, 2015*
I have had 3 spinal surgeries before I met Dr.Eric Rodger,he did the 4th spinal surgery,he is 1 of the best doctors ever, he is an excellent surgeon with an excellent team,To me he is a life saver with gold fingers,If I had to do another surgery (God forbid) I will never choose but him,I highly recommend Dr.Eric Rodger ,and I'd like to thank him and his team as well. http://www.vitals.com/doctors/Dr_Eric_Roger/reviews


by Colleen W. on Feb 3rd, 2015*
I have had 2 successful surgeries with Dr. Roger. He is an excellent surgeon, and Treats his patients with excellent care! I am so very fortunate that Dr. Roger was able to help me! He is a Lifesaver! http://www.vitals.com/doctors/Dr_Eric_Roger/reviews



 
Jan 27th, 2015*
First time visit a few days ago. Very personable, spends time with you, I believe he will guide me and my back problems down the right path.
http://www.vitals.com/doctors/Dr_Eric_Roger/reviews

by L. Thompson on Mar 13th, 2011
I decided to find another neurosurgeon after having several back surgeries by someone who only made things worse. The staff at Dr. Roger's office was sympathetic to my situation and extremely accommodating. They are always friendly. The doctor himself is friendly, very knowledgeable and completely explains everything until he is sure I understand it. It's refreshing to deal with a doctor who isn't rushing me. I couldn't be happier and have recommended him to others. http://www.vitals.com/doctors/Dr_Eric_Roger/reviews
Doctor's Response
Thank you so much. I'm glad you had a pleasant, educational experience.



Dec 28th, 2010*
Thank you Dr Roger for giving me my life back. What a wonderful Christmas I had this year because of this man. My pain has gone as it was, and there is minimal ache which I believe is from the muscles which weren't working as they should have. http://www.vitals.com/doctors/Dr_Eric_Roger/reviews
Doctor's Response
You are very welcome. I am so happy for you.



Oct 20th, 2010*
I have had four spine surgereies, Dr. Roger' did my fifth 2 months ago. It was very complicated and resulted in titanium rods and screws inserted into my spine. I cannot believe how wonderful I felt within one month of surgery. My last surgery was in 1986, when the surgeon told me my spne was too unstable for the rods etc. I told Dr. Eric that when he first examined my MRI. He gently put his hand on my shoulder and said, we haave come a long way since then. His nurses told me, you have Dr. Roger' this time!! He is known as the neurosurgeon of difficult cases, and I was near insanity due to pain. I eventually had to retire from practicing law. Now I am looking forward to returning to work at least part time next year and my consumption of pain meds has already been reduced. I recommend him highly. http://www.vitals.com/doctors/Dr_Eric_Roger/reviews
Doctor's Response
Thank you kindly. You are correct, redo surgeries can be very challenging and may not be quite as successful as "initial" surgeries. Nonetheless, if a patient has exhausted all other options and cannot continue with the pain, or lack of quality of life, than a "redo" surgery may be the only option. I am very happy you are doing well.


  
by Scott on Mar 9th, 2010*

Amazing Dr.s and Nurses. Wonderful, Prompt Care. http://www.vitals.com/doctors/Dr_Eric_Roger/reviews​
Doctor's Response
Thank you so much Scott. I am happy you are doing well.


  

*NOTE: Testimonials / Success Stories Not Necessarily Typical - (The results described in the testimonials above, and elsewhere on this site, do not necessarily describe the typical or average results, and should not be taken as such. Your results may differ greatly.) 


Testimonial Disclaimer:


IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE FTC GUIDE LINES CONCERNING USE OF ENDORSEMENTS AND TESTIMONIALS IN ADVERTISING, PLEASE BE AWARE OF THE FOLLOWING:

TESTIMONIALS APPEARING ON THIS SITE ARE ACTUALLY RECEIVED VIA REVIEWS FROM OTHER SITES FOR DR. ROGER, TEXT, AUDIO, OR VIDEO SUBMISSION. THEY ARE INDIVIDUAL EXPERIENCES, REFLECTING REAL LIFE EXPERIENCES OF THOSE WHO HAVE USED OUR  SERVICES IN SOME WAY OR ANOTHER. HOWEVER, THEY ARE INDIVIDUAL RESULTS AND RESULTS DO VARY. WE DO NOT CLAIM THAT THEY ARE TYPICAL RESULTS THAT CONSUMERS WILL GENERALLY ACHIEVE. THE TESTIMONIALS ARE NOT NECESSARILY REPRESENTATIVE OF ALL OF THOSE WHO WILL USE OUR PRODUCTS AND/OR SERVICES.

THE TESTIMONIALS DISPLAYED (TEXT, AUDIO AND/OR VIDEO) ARE GIVEN VERBATIM EXCEPT FOR CORRECTION OF GRAMMATICAL OR TYPING ERRORS. SOME HAVE BEEN SHORTENED. IN OTHER WORDS, NOT THE WHOLE MESSAGE RECEIVED BY THE TESTIMONIAL WRITER IS DISPLAYED, WHEN IT SEEMED LENGTHY OR NOT THE WHOLE TESTIMONIAL SEEMED RELEVANT FOR THE GENERAL PUBLIC.

DR. ERIC ROGER AND ERIC P. ROGER MD PLLC  IS NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR ANY OF THE OPINIONS OR COMMENTS POSTED TO OUR SITE. WWW.ERICROGER.COM IS NOT A FORUM FOR TESTIMONIALS, HOWEVER PROVIDES TESTIMONIALS AS A MEANS FOR CLIENTS TO SHARE THEIR EXPERIENCES WITH ONE ANOTHER. TO PREVENT AGAINST ABUSE, ALL TESTIMONIALS APPEAR AFTER THEY HAVE BEEN REVIEWED BY MANAGEMENT OF DR. ERIC ROGER OR ERIC P. ROGER MD PLLC. DR. ERIC ROGER DOES NOT SHARE THE OPINIONS, VIEWS OR COMMENTARY OF ANY TESTIMONIALS ON THIS SITE, AND ARE STRICTLY THE VIEWS OF THE REVIEWER.

ADDITIONALLY, THESE TESTIMONIALS ARE NOT INTENDED TO MAKE CLAIMS THAT THESE SERIVCES/PRODUCTS CAN BE USED TO DIAGNOSE, TREAT, CURE, MITIGATE OR PREVENT ANY DISEASE. THESE CLAIMS HAVE NOT BEEN CLINICALLY PROVEN OR EVALUATED BY THE FDA.

Share your experience and feedback.

Testimonials